Fit Foodie: Back to the plan

Over the holidays, it got hard to stay focused on a set meal plan.  The hustle and bustle really makes it difficult to stick with just about anything.  Now that it’s fully over…I’m back to full weeks of set planning.  Well I’m trying!  We’ve been eating healthy all along but nothing set and boy oh […]

Fit Foodie: Stocking up

My mental calculation goes like this at the grocery store.  One third of my cart or more should be filled within the first 10 minutes of my trip.  I always start in the produce section and the meats follow right after.  Here’s the cart after my last trip… spinach kale celery garlic red pepper green […]

Fit Foodie: Christmas!

Garlic Lover’s Roast Beef http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/10/garlic-lovers-roast-beef.html Garlic Sweet Potato Mash http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/10/garlic-sweet-potato-mash.html Garlic Roasted Cauliflower with Toasted Asiago Bread Crumbs http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/10/garlic-roasted-cauliflower-with-toasted.html Breakfast Sausage Casserole http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/trisha-yearwood/breakfast-sausage-casserole-recipe/index.html

Fit Foodie: Brr!

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup http://www.recipefavorite.com/2013/11/crockpot-chicken-noodle-soup.html Slow Cooker Chicken Black Bean Tacos http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/12/slow-cooker-chicken-black-bean-tacos.html Sweet Potato Pancake Bites I used Bruce’s sweet potato pancake mix, turkey bacon, pecans and graham crumble. http://theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com/2012/01/day-in-my-pouch_25.html Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats http://mywholefoodlife.com/2013/09/14/pumpkin-pie-overnight-oats/ Creamy Italian Chicken http://southernfood.about.com/od/crockpotchicken/r/bl104c4.htm Chicken pockets! Leftover shredded chicken Cheddar cheese Crescent rolls Preheat the oven (temp off the tube […]

Fit Foodie: Crockpots & Casseroles

Mini Zucchini Pizzas http://www.eat-yourself-skinny.com/2012/01/mini-zucchini-pizzas.html Mixed Veggie Parmesan Slice the eggplant into 1/4 inch thick slices. Lightly salt the slices to release excess moisture for about 30 minutes Preheat oven to 450°. Spray eggplant with olive oil on both sides and place on cookie sheets. Bake for 20-25 minutes, turning half way through. In a bowl, combine ricotta, egg, parsley, grated cheese and […]

Fit foodie: Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving was a rare and special one.  We had family coming over.  Being a military family, that is as rare as it comes for most.  It’s hard and expensive…but it is one of the greatest gifts!  Since we were so blessed, I had the chance to cook…but not just that really cook…like for a […]

Fit Foodie: Short week…then turkey!

Chicken Broccoli Divan http://www.campbellskitchen.com/recipes/printrecipe.aspx?recipeid=24320 Taco stuffed acorn squash Slow Cooker Creamy Chicken Fajita Soup http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2013/11/slow-cooker-creamy-chicken-fajita-soup.html mexican stuffed peppers with quinoa & black beans http://www.onelovelylife.com/?p=4854

Fit Foodie: Comfort Foods

Crock pot Chicken & Dumplings This was a big comfort food recipe for me as well as the tomato soup.  As the cold is coming in I feel the need to crawl under a blanket with a big bowl of warmth.  These two recipes were perfection for that! http://www.yummyhealthyeasy.com/2013/02/easy-slow-cooker-chicken-and-dumplings.html Chicken Parmesan Wraps http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2011/02/17/chicken-parmesan-wraps/ Frozen healthy […]

Fit Foodie: Bakes & Soups!

My new all time favorite for a vegetable parmesan bake!!!  I just do not even know what to say about it.  I just simply love it!!! Layered Zucchini Parmesan http://www.handletheheat.com/2010/10/layered-zucchini-parmesan.html The hubby loved this soup!  Well he loves the Skinny taste’s crock pot meatballs that are in the soup…he loves them along side of anything! […]