Fit Foodie: Meal Rotation

After much deliberation with the hubby, we developed a meal rotation that we can be satisfied with repeating.  It is a six week rotation with 4 set recipes within each week.  This allows us to have room for take out when a day is too crazy, leftovers if the fridge is filling up and new […]

Fit Foodie: Marathon training = crockpot cooking

   Brown Rice Horchata – aka HAPPY HUBBY!  I had no clue what this drink was when we were out at Pancho Villa and my husband ordered it.  I had been surfing around pinterest for something to make for him since he’s been handling my marathon training demands like a champ.  Once I saw Skinnytaste […]

Fit Foodie: I’m in love with food…seriously.

So before you look at this and say what I would say to me…  I swear I didn’t only make sweets!  It was one of those weeks where we literally devoured dinners right out of the pans.  They didn’t even make it to the plates most of the time! Zucchini Parmesan http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/zucchini-parmesan/#_a5y_p=2043182 Breakfast Quesadillas http://www.favfamilyrecipes.com/breakfast-quesadillas-2.html   Mom’s […]

Fit Foodie: A little all over the place!

Pasta with Asparagus I had an asparagus need.  It had been over 2 months since we had it and there’s just something about asparagus.  It’s weird because I never ever ever liked asparagus growing up.  Brussel sprouts and asparagus were my achilles heel! http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/06/pasta-with-asparagus.html Mini Red Velvet Whoopie Pies http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/red-velvet-whoopie-pies-50400000133155/   Honey Whole Wheat Bread […]

Fit Foodie: Just no so… #hubbymade

I did not feel like it.  I just didn’t.  Thank goodness the hubby has been watching me!  I pulled myself together to make some of these but the star of the week, Sugar Snap Pea and Mushroom Sauté with Flank Steak, was ALL him!  It was the most tastiest, fantabulous dinner I have had in a […]

Fit Foodie: Re-Trying the Old

  Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/spanish-chicken-with-chorizo-and-potatoes-5160   German Chocolate Rice Cakes 4 cups rice Dates Chocolate chips Coconut Brown Sugar Honey Grind down, packed into the bottom of a casserole dish and cut into squares.  Keep refrigerated. Taste great re-warmed in the microwave!   One Pot Chili Mac and Cheese http://damndelicious.net/2014/03/15/one-pot-chili-mac-cheese/   Chicken […]

Fit Foodie: My slow week.

    Chicken Tetrazzini with Zucchini Noodles http://www.inspiralized.com/2014/04/30/chicken-tetrazzini-with-zucchini-noodles/ Crispy Baked Potato Chips  http://www.inspiralized.com/2013/08/29/crispy-baked-potato-chips-with-sriracha-garlic-yogurt-dip/   S’MORE CUPS http://coleensrecipes.blogspot.com/2013/07/smore-cups.html?m=1

Fit Foodie: One Pan Love!

One Pan Cheesy Kielbasa & Tomato Noodles Ingredients 6 oz turkey kielbasa, sliced 1 Tbsp olive oil 1 medium onion, chopped 1 can of Rotel tomatoes with mild chiles, not drained 2 1/2 cups chicken broth 8 oz no-yolk egg noodles 3 cups fresh spinach 1 cup shredded Monterrey jack & cheddar 1/2 cup green […]

Fit Foodie: Next up!

So these recipes may be a stretch for the “fit foodie” title BUT not really!  Everything in the world of fit is dependent on the biggest variable there is…you.  With the right ingredient choices, a dish could have all the flavor you could imagine and still be healthy.  Eating healthy is far from boring.  You […]

Fit foodie: Can’t get me out the kitchen!

  Baked Pasta with Spinach & Sausage http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/09/baked-pasta-with-sausage-and-spinach.html   Petite Lasagna http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2011/05/15/petite-lasagnas-take-2/   Man-Pleasing Chicken & zucchini noodles with pesto http://www.wittyinthecity.com/2011/08/man-pleasing-chicken/ http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/zucchini-noodles-with-pesto/   Chicken, Spinach & Mushroom Pasta Bake   http://www.cookingjarhappyaccidents.com/2013/11/chicken-spinach-and-mushroom-pasta-bake.html   Mini Pumpkin Loaves Recipe adjustments – Flour (half all-purpose & half wheat), use half the sugar, add 1/4 cup white chocolate chips and […]