Fit Foodie: A little all over the place!

Pasta with Asparagus I had an asparagus need.  It had been over 2 months since we had it and there’s just something about asparagus.  It’s weird because I never ever ever liked asparagus growing up.  Brussel sprouts and asparagus were my achilles heel! http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/06/pasta-with-asparagus.html Mini Red Velvet Whoopie Pies http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/red-velvet-whoopie-pies-50400000133155/   Honey Whole Wheat Bread […]

Fit Foodie: My slow week.

    Chicken Tetrazzini with Zucchini Noodles http://www.inspiralized.com/2014/04/30/chicken-tetrazzini-with-zucchini-noodles/ Crispy Baked Potato Chips  http://www.inspiralized.com/2013/08/29/crispy-baked-potato-chips-with-sriracha-garlic-yogurt-dip/   S’MORE CUPS http://coleensrecipes.blogspot.com/2013/07/smore-cups.html?m=1

Fit Foodie: Next up!

So these recipes may be a stretch for the “fit foodie” title BUT not really!  Everything in the world of fit is dependent on the biggest variable there is…you.  With the right ingredient choices, a dish could have all the flavor you could imagine and still be healthy.  Eating healthy is far from boring.  You […]

Fit foodie: Can’t get me out the kitchen!

  Baked Pasta with Spinach & Sausage http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/09/baked-pasta-with-sausage-and-spinach.html   Petite Lasagna http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2011/05/15/petite-lasagnas-take-2/   Man-Pleasing Chicken & zucchini noodles with pesto http://www.wittyinthecity.com/2011/08/man-pleasing-chicken/ http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/zucchini-noodles-with-pesto/   Chicken, Spinach & Mushroom Pasta Bake   http://www.cookingjarhappyaccidents.com/2013/11/chicken-spinach-and-mushroom-pasta-bake.html   Mini Pumpkin Loaves Recipe adjustments – Flour (half all-purpose & half wheat), use half the sugar, add 1/4 cup white chocolate chips and […]

Fit Foodie: Still cleaning house!

We are still working through the recipes that we pulled from the cookbook to try again. Some have not made the cut because simply put…we’ve changed in the last 2 years. We’ve tasted different things! Found different loves!   Crockpot Chicken & Mushroom http://www.chef-in-training.com/2012/06/slow-cooker-chicken-and-mushrooms/   Crockpot Chicken Cordon Bleu Changes: 1 slice of ham & […]

Fit foodie: Hubby’s birthday!

Crock pot Chicken Adobo This was his choice for meal time!  We did half of the drumsticks with the skin on and the other half with the skin off to test the flavoring.  Next time…all skin off for us!  All the yummy goodness was there without it!!! http://www.thecrepesofwrath.com/2012/02/23/slow-cooker-chicken-adobo/   Pear Crisp (adapted from The Feed […]

Fit foodie: Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving was a rare and special one.  We had family coming over.  Being a military family, that is as rare as it comes for most.  It’s hard and expensive…but it is one of the greatest gifts!  Since we were so blessed, I had the chance to cook…but not just that really cook…like for a […]

Fit Foodie: Comfort Foods

Crock pot Chicken & Dumplings This was a big comfort food recipe for me as well as the tomato soup.  As the cold is coming in I feel the need to crawl under a blanket with a big bowl of warmth.  These two recipes were perfection for that! http://www.yummyhealthyeasy.com/2013/02/easy-slow-cooker-chicken-and-dumplings.html Chicken Parmesan Wraps http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2011/02/17/chicken-parmesan-wraps/ Frozen healthy […]

Fit Foodie: Bakes & Soups!

My new all time favorite for a vegetable parmesan bake!!!  I just do not even know what to say about it.  I just simply love it!!! Layered Zucchini Parmesan http://www.handletheheat.com/2010/10/layered-zucchini-parmesan.html The hubby loved this soup!  Well he loves the Skinny taste’s crock pot meatballs that are in the soup…he loves them along side of anything! […]

Fit Foodie: A Full Week!

Back to cooking full time!  I have enjoyed my rest and all of the yummy freezer meals as well as the lovely meals brought to us BUT I missed this.  I missed exploring the recipes, setting up a full meal plan and trying out something new!  It’s good to be back! Sweet Potato Irish Nachos […]